Creative Applications: Sikhism

By: D. Wright

Sat-sri-akal, my name is Livtat. I live in Northwest India and I am a Sikh. That means that I practice Sikhism. Guru Nanak founded Sikhism, and he is the commissioner of god. He spoke to him in person. When we go to Amristar, we go to the Golden Temple to worship. There we red from the Adi Ganth; it’s a sacred text. We also have a sacred symbol. My parents say that it’s made of four Sikh weapons. It’s called the khanda. One reason I love being a Sikh is because of all the fun holidays. Vaisakhi is a festival in April that celebrates the beginning of the harvest season. It’s our new years. I love the dancing and the bright clothing during the celebrating. My family dresses up. Hope to talk to you soon!

“Sikh Boy, Chandigarh.” Photoportals Photography by Paul Kapiloff. Web. 15 Jan. 2012. <http://www.photoportals.com&gt;.

Boehm, Richard G., and Dinah Zike. Glencoe World Geography and Cultures. New York: McGraw-Hill/Glencoe, 2012. Print.

This entry was written by dwright4ecspress and published on January 16, 2012 at 4:19 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment